Wild swans

Wild Swans is the true story of three generations of women in the twentieth century. My mother recommended I read this book a long time ago, its been sitting in her library for years now and I could hardly bring myself to read it because I just knew that if she thought I should read it it would be a harrowing tale! But I have resolved to read it during the holidays when I have more time and don’t mind my mascara dribbling down my cheeks. The book was first published in 1991 so its been out for over 20 years now , has  been translated into more than 30 languages and sold more than 10 million copies. Here is one of the reviews on the book.

“Riveting, an extraordinary epic. A work of true, living history drawing deep on family memories, an unmatchable insight into the making of modern China and the impact of war and totalitarianism on the destinies of a quarter of the human race.” Richard Heller , Mail on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

